U.S. Non-Military Decorations Order of Precedence

Reference: DA PAM 670-1, dated 26 January 2021

22-5. Order of precedence within categories of medals

c. U.S. nonmilitary decorations. U.S. nonmilitary decorations authorized for wear on Army uniforms are listed below in order of precedence. This list is not all-inclusive. Personnel will wear other U.S. nonmilitary (Federal agency) decorations based upon date of receipt. If more than one decoration is awarded by the same agency, the decorations are worn in the order of precedence as established by the awarding agency. Personnel will not wear U.S. nonmilitary decorations that duplicate recognition for service or an act for which a military decoration has already been awarded.

1. Presidential Medal of Freedom

2. Presidential Citizen's Medal

3. President's Award for Distinguished Federal Civilian Service Award

4. DoD Distinguished Civilian Service Award

5. Secretary of Defense Medal for the Defense of Freedom

6. Secretary of Defense Meritorious Civilian Service Award

7. Office of the Secretary of Defense Exceptional Civilian Service Award

8. Secretary of the Army Distinguished Service Award

9. National Intelligence Distinguished Service Medal

10. National Intelligence Superior Service Medal

11. National Intelligence Exceptional Achievement Medal

12. Surgeon General's Exemplary Service Medal

13. National Aeronautics and Space Administration Space Flight Medal

14. Public Health Service Commendation Medal

15. Public Health Service Achievement Medal

16. Department of State Distinguished Service Award

17. Department of State Distinguished Honor Award

18. Department of State Superior Honor Award

19. Department of State Meritorious Honor Award

20. Decoration for Exceptional Civilian Service

21. Meritorious Civilian Service Award

22. Superior Civilian Service Award

23. Commander's Award for Civilian Service

24. Achievement Medal for Civilian Service

U.S. Non-Military Decorations